Aiya

I wasn’t that impressed with dinner tonight, but I guess it’s good to document things that didn’t work along with what did?


Mapo tofu

I don’t think this even warrants a “recipe” since I used a boxed mix. I’ll just jot down the things I’d do differently next time. First of all, I want to try making it from scratch! It doesn’t look too hard. I used ground beef because it’s what I had on hand, but next time will be pork. Oh, and I was really annoyed that I didn’t have any scallions hanging around for garnish. The dish just doesn’t look complete without any greens!

Bok choy with mushrooms and oyster sauce

I was very loosely inspired by this recipe (see video here), but didn’t have any shiitakes at home. I used the only mushrooms I had in the fridge, which happened to be creminis. It was a little salty (probably too generous with the oyster sauce) and a little overcooked, so more wilted than what would be ideal. I did like the kick that the chili garlic sauce added, and next time I’ll probably add more.

Brownie and vanilla ice cream

Still trying to eat our way through all those brownies left over from last week’s work potluck!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by leeetz on January 20, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    those look like baby bok choy….

    i’m sad about my brownies. I threw out the entire pan last night. it did smell really good…

    Reply

  2. Posted by gulez on January 21, 2010 at 1:27 am

    maybe we can do a redo when you’re here (!!!!!!). ;D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

