Archive for January 23rd, 2010

Yarn Stash

We went to the Container Store and BBB today to buy some containers so I could, in Pooh’s words, “contain my mess.”  We live in NYC.  In a small apartment, with only two closets.  There’s just no way I can have everything I need (want) without some of it overflowing.  Add to that my tendency to not throw things away, and finally I had to admit that a purging and reorganization of our (my) possessions was needed.

Part of the problem is stuff like the yarn stash. Have you been in a yarn store?  All those colors and textures, the wall to wall bins filled with yarns.  If I got just one skein of that gorgeous yarn…there’s always something I could make with it, right?

Since I had to pull them all out from their various bags to put away in my new Container Store bin, I went ahead and did an inventory.

[Greys]
3  Lion Brand Cashmere Blend (silver)
1  Cascade 220 Wool (grey heather)
1  Bernat Softee Chunky (light grey)
1  Cascade Ecological Wool ( charcoal, leftover)
1  Patons Chunky Tweed (dark charcoal)

[Blues & Misc]
1 Catalina Baby Alpaca Wool (purple)
3  mystery yarns (light blue, green, light brown-sale bin, no tag)
1  Cascade 220 Wool (navy)
1  Debbie Bliss Cashmerino (beige)
1  Patons Chunky Tweed (dark brown)

[Reds and Pinks]
1 Catalina Baby Alpaca Wool (fuschia)
1  Cascade 220 Wool (coralish fuschia?)
1  Malabrigo Merino Worsted
(called American Beauty, reddish coral)
2  Sheep Shop Yarn Company, Sheep #2
(variegated red)

[Baby Hat Yarn]
4 Bernat Baby CottonTots (pink, blue, yellow and “pastel dreams”)

After seeing it all out like this, really, it isn’t that much, is it??  =D