Full of Grace

Last night, Roo and I hit up Grace for dinner. My second dineLA meal, but Roo’s first of the “season.” I’ve been wanting to try this place forever, but have never managed to snag reservations whenever Restaurant Week rolls around. This year, when my boss sent me the link to participating restaurants, the first thing I did was book Friday night dinner at Grace!

The cool thing is that unlike the other restaurants that have a set prix fixe menu, Grace lets you choose your own adventure: 3 course meal for $44, 5 course meal for $65. Their whole menu is up for grabs, although some dishes involve a supplemental cost. All three of my courses ended up incurring a bit more, but I figured I’d go whole hog because I’d been anticipating this meal for so long.

APPETIZER:

Dungeness Crab Salad
apple, celery root, potato crisps, curry aioli

Rabbit Cavatelli
olives, oven roasted tomatoes, san andreas, black truffles

ENTRÉE:

Grilled Filet of Beef
farro, haricots verts, morcilla, Ossau-Iraty cheese, red wine sauce

Grilled Sonoma Lamb
byaldi confit, ligurian olives, tomato demiglace

DESSERT:

Chef’s Selection Doughnut Flight
chef’s selection of doughnuts & ice cream

Sticky Toffee Pudding
brûléed bananas, toffee sauce, hazelnut gelato

Again, no food pictures because the restaurant was too dark. Have to settle for these moody atmospheric tablescape photos instead. The meal was wonderful, and definitely worth the wait! My favorites were the rabbit, beef filet, and the doughnuts. Oh my, the DOUGHNUTS – according to the waiter, the flavors were: buttermilk brown butter, bourbon chocolate, and salted caramel. Grace is known all across town for their spectacular doughnuts, and now I finally know why.

So far, two for two with Restaurant Week! Can’t wait for next week’s food-venture!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by leeetz on January 31, 2010 at 1:10 am

    what’s up for next week??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

