Pasta carbonara florentine

What’s not to love about this dish? Seriously: pasta, bacon, spinach, egg, cheese! That killer combo just can’t really go wrong. I haven’t made carbonara in a while, so I was excited to try out this version that I found last week.


Pasta carbonara florentine
Recipe from Cooking Light

Ingredients:

Cooking spray
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
1 (6-ounce) package bagged prewashed baby spinach
6 slices center-cut bacon, chopped
1 cup finely chopped onion
2 tablespoons dry white wine
8 ounces uncooked spaghetti
1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 large egg
1 large egg white
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Preparation:

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt and spinach; cook 1 minute or until spinach wilts, stirring constantly. Remove spinach from pan; place in a bowl.

Add bacon to pan; cook 3 minutes or until crisp, stirring frequently. Remove bacon from pan, reserving 2 teaspoons drippings in pan; set bacon aside. Add onion to drippings in pan; cook 2 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add wine; cook 1 minute or until liquid is reduced by half. Remove from heat; keep warm.

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain well, reserving 1 tablespoon cooking liquid. Immediately add pasta and the reserved cooking liquid to onion mixture in skillet. Add spinach and bacon; stir well to combine. Place skillet over low heat.

Combine remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, cheese, pepper, egg, and egg white, stirring with a whisk. Add to pasta mixture, tossing well to coat. Cook 1 minute. Remove from heat. Sprinkle with parsley. Serve immediately.

Notes:

I really loved the spinach with the pasta – yum! All of the times I’ve made carbonara in the past, I’ve tossed a bag of frozen peas in with the pasta to add some greens, but I may love this even more.

My only beef with this dish was that it came out too dry! 1 tablespoon of cooking liquid, my ass! I ended up adding much more than that, and still think it could have used more. I wonder if it would have made a difference if I’d used the entire second egg, and not just the egg white? Would that precious yolk have yielded the perfect creamy texture?? I guess I’ll never know…or at least, I won’t until the next time I try this out.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by leeetz on February 5, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I told Pooh I might try to make this sometime, and his reaction to the florentine part of the recipe?? “Why would you want to make something like that -healthy-?” lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

