Nobu New York

Pooh and I had to give up our Perry Street reservations due to my calendar dyslexia, thinking a friend’s shower is on Saturday when it is actually on Sunday.  We were very sad about not enjoying another Restaurant Week meal before the promotion ended.  But, Pooh did some lurking on OpenTable.com yesterday and got us last-minute lunch reservations at Nobu!  Someone must have just canceled because they were all booked up.  He works in the FiDi and was able to escape for an hour (or two, hehe) to enjoy really good Japanese food.

We went to the original Nobu (on Hudson).  There are two other locations in NYC, Nobu Next Door and Nobu Fifty-Seventh.

Rock Shrimp Tempura with Creamy Spicy Sauce

Black Miso Cod
(I was so hungry, I took a bite of this and then realized I hadn’t yet taken a picture!)

Assorted Sushi

Soy Cheesecake with Pear Compote

Pooh’s coworker had advised him to get the Rock Shrimp Tempura and not the other appetizers.  Which were a sashimi salad and a mushroom salad.  I am usually adamant about ordering different things to try, but in this case the two other choices seemed pretty ordinary, so shrimp it was for both of us.  Out of the three entrée choices, I knew I wanted the Black Miso Cod, which is pretty well-known as a Nobu dish.  It would be a shame to eat at Nobu and not have the raw fish, so Pooh got the Assorted Sushi plate.  The other entrée we didn’t order was Beef with Anti-Cucho or Teriyaki Sauce.  Yeah, I have no idea what anti-cucho is.

I loved it all and am excited we got to knock another NYC dining institution off our list!!  As I was writing this post, I checked the pictures I took of the menu…wow, the Black Miso Cod is normally $25 alone!  Maybe the portion sizes are different when it’s not prix-fixe, but regardless, the 3-course $24.50 Restaurant Week Menu was a steal!

Leave a Reply

