Superbowl Sunday supper

Not quite your normal Superbowl Sunday fare, but I have a very nearly-empty fridge, and I do not want to visit the wasteland that is the grocery store today. Besides I haven’t figured out my GOMP yet, so I want to wait. I had just enough for some kimchi bokkeumbap! My procedure is essentially the same as L, so no need for recipe or anything.

I had some green beans to use up, so I decided to make this recipe I randomly found one day, and have used several times since.


Dad’s Pan-Fried Green Beans
Recipe from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

1 pound fresh green beans, trimmed
3 tablespoons light soy sauce
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon white sugar
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic

Directions

Place the green beans in a large saucepan or pot with one inch of water. You may place them in a steamer insert if you have one. Bring to a boil, cover and cook for 5 minutes, they should still be firm and bright green.

In a small bowl, stir together the soy sauce, balsamic vinegar and sugar; set aside.

Heat the sesame oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until starting to brown. Add the green beans and stir to coat with the oil. Stir in the soy sauce mixture and simmer for a couple of minutes uncovered to reduce the sauce. Transfer the beans to a serving dish and pour the sauce over them.

Leave a Reply

