1% of Anything

1% of Anything  [1%의 어떤 것]
MBC; 2003
Episodes: 26
Starring:  Kim Jung-Hwa and Kang Dong-Won

Synopsis (from DramaWiki)
Kim Da-Hyun is a young and sincere middle school teacher, who has little interest in money. She is also extremely warm-hearted and loves to help other people. When she helps carry an elderly man’s belongings from the train to another location, the elderly man is extremely thankful. This grandfather turns out to be the extremely rich owner of a well known conglomerate. His grandson, Lee Jae-In is a quick-tempered businessman who rivals his grandfather, but in an almost comical way. In an order to “tame” his favorite grandson, the grandfather agrees to give his entire fortune to the person who marries Kim Da-Hyun, therefore forcing Lee Jae-In to meet the girl whom his grandfather chose. Although at first Da-Hyun and Jae-In don’t get along because of Jae-In’s extremely cute but bad temper, their arguments bring them closer together. Jae-In starts to get jealous when Da-Hyun’s fellow teacher starts liking her too. Through the clever conditions that Jae-In’s grandfather makes, Jae-In starts a relationship he does not look forward too. However, what looked like a relationship that would 99% not work out, turns out to be the “perfect” match, the 1% chance.

• • • • •

While Gulez is keeping up with her meal plans,  I only have the energy to sit on my couch and keep up with my drama-viewing.  I read the synopsis for 1% of Anything just a few days ago, and decided to give it a shot today.  I hesitated at first, because this show is 26 episodes long, and categorized as a melodrama.  I don’t do the tear-jerkers, nuh-uh.  The K-dramas I watch are typically the “trendy” type  (with idol stars and a light-hearted story line) and only 16 episodes long.

As an indicator of how much I’m enjoying my new obsession:  I’ve already been through 7 episodes. Yes, in one day.  But, I did get up early-ish, got dressed, went out to lunch, and even visited the Met for a few hours!  And took a nap. I do have a life.  Kinda.

Yup, I just love the plucky heroine & cold lawyer/CEO/chaebol storyline!   It actually started off strong, and by that, I mean I didn’t get the urge to skip the first few episodes all together.  Each episode actually passed by really fast, and even the secondary storylines have been decent…no psycho women, just some stereotypical ajumma shenanigans that I am hoping doesn’t get so ridiculous that it affects my enjoyment of the drama.  Sometimes the guys are overbearing in that “I know what’s good for you” way, which can also get on my nerves, but each time they’ve managed to redeem themselves afterwards.

So far, so good! 19 more to go!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by gulez on March 28, 2010 at 2:44 am

    you move too quicklyyyyy…i need to catch up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

