Obsessed

My new obsession: It Started with a Kiss (惡作劇之吻), a 2005 Taiwanese idol drama.

I didn’t think I’d get sucked in so rapidly or so thoroughly.  I managed to cram in 9 episodes on Saturday, and 11 on Sunday.  There are a total of 30 episodes!  Times like this, I almost wish I lived alone so I could spend 15 hours straight watching without feeling bad about myself.  Pooh made me leave the house on Sunday to do grocery shopping and run some errands.

ISWAK was adapted from Japanese manga Itazura Na Kiss, (a Korean version is in the works!).  It was extremely popular and remains one of those “classic” dramas that every TwDrama fan should watch.

You can probably guess the type of storyline this is, per my drama preferences.  Ariel Lin and Joe Cheng are the leads; the drama takes them from high school through college.  He’s a genius, but cold and standoffish (aren’t they always), while she is not-so-smart, but a happy spirit.  Due to an earthquake destroying her house, her father brings them to live with his college classmate, whose son turns out to be Joe Cheng’s character.  Chaos and hilarity ensues, and along the way, he warms up to her (but of course).

Prior to watching ISWAK, I had read that the female character is SO dimwitted and bumbling that she provokes feminist sensibilities. It’s to Ariel Lin’s credit that I’m not as frustrated with her as I thought I would be.    In fact, I’ve barely fast forwarded past any scenes — only the little montages that start/end commercial breaks.   This is the first time I’ve seen something of hers, but I know she’s considered a very good actress in Taiwan.  She’ll be doing the Taiwanese version of Coffee Prince, which I will definitely be adding to my “to watch” list!  Joe Cheng is very, very good as well and the chemistry between the leads has me eagerly watching for the too-far-and-few-inbetween cutesy moments.  I’m amazed I’ve watched 20 episodes without the usual drama fatigue.

The awesome part of this obsession??  There’s a ISWAK 2!  Called They Kiss Again, I’m sure I’ll be marathoning through that one as well after I finish the first!

Leave a Reply

