Lessons Learned

From an article titled 12 Things I wish I’d know about Love when I was 21, in the Sept 2010 issue of Glamour.

I’m not re-typing all 12, but just the ones that struck a chord.  Most of us have lived and learned, while some of us still don’t quite get the picture.  I do sometimes think that the “take me as I am” mentality is overrated.  We all have areas we could improve on, no?

#1Never underestimate the importance of being “interesting.”
Men want someone interesting.  They really do.  So find some hobbies….  It takes effort to get interested in yourself again.  Make that effort.  You’ll start to remember how good it feels.  And you’ll impress.

#4 – Knowing how to cook:  helpful.
…If I’d any idea then [when i was 21], how much guys savor a woman who cooks–even if they are great cooks themselves–I would’ve asked for further instructions [on how to cook].  Leetz: It’s a useful skill, and being able to put a meal together (with or without cooking) means that you can take care of yourself!

#5Sometimes guys flirt with you because it makes them feel good about themselves.
This is also the aha explanation for why he asked for your number and didn’t call.  Leetz: So don’t take it so seriously. It doesn’t always MEAN something.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by gulez on August 9, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Gulez note to #1: Why not be interesting for the sake of being interesting, and not for being attractive to men?? Haha these “How to Impress Guys” lists always annoy me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

