Lovely

The title refers to the bridal salon I visited yesterday.  It’s a very small boutique located in the basement and first floor of a quaint West Village townhouse that only just opened in April 2010.  They carry just a few lines, but there’s a good range for all budgets. The layout of the shop is a bit cramped but the upstairs, where the three dressing rooms are?  It’s beautifully decorated and spacious.

This post isn’t meant to be a review of my experience there, although I guess it would be hard for me to not make a few comments.  Overall, I enjoyed myself and really liked my SA.  I think they could work just a bit on their hospitality.  We were about 5 minutes early, and aside from asking my name, the SA that opened the door didn’t say much else.  It just seemed strange to allow your new brides to walk into the shop and not suggest we look around while we wait, or to ask if we need water.  Perhaps I’ve been spoiled by the J.Crew experience.

Enough of that and onto the pictures!  I tried on 5 dresses:  2 short and 3 long.  I’m only posting up the two favorites right now.  Short dresses are really cute, but when else am I going to get to wear a long white gown?

Wtoo Celestine.  Chiffon with floral & feather adornment. It is not actually a sweetheart neckline, just that there is a wire right down the middle that the SA had pinched to show that it could be modified (still would need a tailor).  It has a sweep train, which you can’t see in this picture.  This is the dress that’s currently the front runner, but I’m going to attempt one last visit at J.Crew before I make a decision.

Wtoo VannessaSatin and lace with beaded flower embellishment and trumpet skirt. This dress actually has cap sleeves with keyhole back which you can’t see in this picture because apparently sleeves were overwhelming on a short person.  (I’m not that short!)  Very pretty but my main concern was the tummy area.  Satin and  a gut = big no no.  HA.  I really liked the bodice.

One thing is clear after three dress appointments.  I ❤ sweetheart necklines.

And the back of the Vanessa.  Prettyyyyyy.

Leave a Reply

